How perfect is perfectionism?

It’s not.

And if you’re a perfectionist that drives you nuts.

There are positive effects of being a perfectionist – when you do something it’s going to get done and get done wonderfully.  When your child has a Wizard of Oz birthday party there WILL be a yellow brick road, smooshed wicked witch cupcakes, over the rainbow fruit pizza, games that involve rainbow skittles and stuffing scarecrows and hunting for the ruby red slippers, melting witch punch, Totos in a blanket, munchkin carrots, emerald grapes, and ding dongs the witch is dead.  True story.

But the down side is, if I can’t do it and do it perfectly, I tend to not do it at all.

That’s the practical side of things, but during my journaling time recently I realized how it also negatively impacts my relationship with God.  You would think that, since His will is PERFECT, I’d be right on the bandwagon to surrender.  Surrendering my will to accomplish His will.  It means I will have some parts of the journey that aren’t part of my plan.  And it also means there will be times that I stumble and don’t get it perfect.  But no matter how much that makes me crazy, He still loves me more than I will ever realize, He’s still right there with me.  His mercy and power are greater than any mistake I could ever make.

So whenever I’m really stressing about getting every.single.little.detail.decision perfect, I need to remember that perfectionism is not what He asks of me.  He just asks for my heart.

but he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

 

2 thoughts on “How perfect is perfectionism?

  1. Pingback: Small Success Thursday – Blogging, Swimming, & Lent! | Making the Swim

Leave a Reply

