April A to Z Challenge – Saints! Letter A

As I’m approaching my confirmation, I’ve yet to choose a Patron Saint.  So, I decided to do the A to Z challenge with the Saints – this will make me research them more, and perhaps enlighten a few of you as well! (and since I’m pre-writing the posts, I’ll have them done before East vigil!)

So here we go!  Starting the month of April with the letter “A”!

Two of the Saints that struck me for “A” were St. Adelaide of Belgium and St Agatha of Sicily.

St Adelaide of Belgium was placed in a convert when she was only SEVEN years old.  Growing up in the religious community, she was loved for her humility and goodness.  As a teen St Adelaide contracted leprosy and was put in isolation for the remainder of her life for fear of her leprosy being spread to others, but served, still, as an example to others.  While in isolation, she suffered emotionally and physically, but was also blessed by visions and ecstasies.  Also called Aleydis, she developed a deep devotion to the Real Presence in the Eucharist, and many miracles are credited to her intercession.  She is celebrated on her feast day of June 15 and is the patron of those that are blind and paralyzed.

St Agatha of Sicily suffered greatly in her martyrdom.  She dedicated her life to God when she was young, and resisted many men.  One man, who apparently thought he was “big stuff”, and knowing she was a Christian during a time of persecution, had her arrested in hopes she would give in to his desire for her.  Instead, even through the threat of torture and possible death, her faith was strengthened, and she prayed, “Jesus Christ, Lord of all, you see my heart, you know my desires. Possess all that I am. I am your sheep: make me worthy to overcome the devil.”  That man then sent her to be be imprisoned, humiliated, and assaulted  in a brothel.  But when he had her brought before him again, she stood firm in her faith.  He sentenced her to prison, and while she still professed her faith, he ordered that she be tortured, including having both of her breasts cut off.  After having a vision from St Peter, she was tortured again, and died after her final prayer, “Lord, my Creator, you have always protected me from the cradle; you have taken me from the love of the world and given me patience to suffer. Receive my soul.”  St Agatha’s feast day is February 5th.  She is the patron saint of breast cancer patients, martyrs, wet nurses, bell-founders, bakers, fire, earthquakes, and eruptions of Mount Etna.

You can read more on Saints whose names begin with the letter “A” HERE

8 thoughts on “April A to Z Challenge – Saints! Letter A

Leave a Reply

