I come not to bring peace, but a sword…….

mt1034

I have been blessed with some of the most Godly, holy, on-the-road-to-sainthood, all-in-for-Our-Father’s-Kingdom mentors.  Not only were they instrumental in my conversion, but they’ve become family – they’ve bore some of my hurt, pulled me back up when I’ve fallen, given me ever-so-gentle shoves to get outside of my box, and always given me Godly advice – I am so thankful that God has placed these people in my life

Early in my “official” conversion (aka I was already Catholic in my heart, but it was time to make it visible, official, which meant discussing it with those I love), I received some of the most harsh persecution from someone I loved and respected very much.  It hurt horribly and damaged the relationship, maybe permanently.  As I spoke with one of my mentors about this, he gave me scripture that I didn’t recall ever seeing before:

 
“Do not think that I have come to bring peace on earth; I have not come to bring peace, but a sword.  For I have come to set a man against his father, and a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law;  and a man’s foes will be those of his own household.  He who loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; and he who loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me” Matthew 10:34-37 RSV

 

We are not to put any relationship before God.  If we lean on others more than we lean on Him, He will cut that relationship.  Sometimes it’s done easily – someone moves and our lives move different directions.  Sometimes it’s hard like the situation I mentioned earlier.

I tend to get lonely as a stay-at-home mom.  In that loneliness I find myself reaching out to others – sometimes just to say hi, sometimes for fellowship, sometimes for support in life issues, sometimes simply to have adult conversation sans teenage logic!  But God continues to remind me to seek Him instead.  Seek Him when I feel alone and abandoned.  Seek Him when I want to scream and pull my hair out.  Seek Him when I hurt.  Seek Him when I see Him transforming the heart of my husband.  Seek Him when I see my children growing in their love for Him.  Seek Him when I see His little smiles throughout the day.  Quit running to tell others about what’s going on – share it with Him.

2 thoughts on “I come not to bring peace, but a sword…….

Leave a Reply

